用户工具

站点工具


zh:renter:host_centralization



托管主机中心化

比特币挖矿,即大家所说的PoW,是非常典型的中心化的。这种中心化是由于经济的范围导致的。而这种经济的范围又是由于数据中心的介入产生,所以大家不禁会问Sia的托管主机会不会也高度中心化?

比特币挖矿受到一些缺点的影响。矿机可以无需认证的加入挖矿。谁挖矿最快,谁就赢,并且没有人能阻止它。另一个缺点是所有的哈希速率是一样的。美国的哈希速率和中国的哈希速率对区块链来说是一样有价值的。

在Sia中,情况有很大不同。每个人选择自己的托管主机。一个托管主机不能强迫用户来保存数据,用户独立评估托管主机然后决定是否值得。如果有个可怕的托管主机,你可以把它拉入黑名单。你的租用系统就可以选择其他的托管主机,这样来达到去中心化。

在Sia网路中,所有的存储也不是相等的。美国的存储对美国用户更快。中国的存储对中国用户更快。很自然的,大家会选择物理距离近的托管主机,因为大家都想延时较低,速度更快。

最后,托管主机对专注不同的领域,这点和矿机不同。有些托管主机专注低带宽,有些则使用SSD。有些用冷存储。每种不同的存储领域也有助于去中心化。

最后,用户对全局有着控制。如果用户希望数据去中心话,他们可以选择分布在全球的托管主机。如果决定了,他们可以搜索单独的托管主机,并在客户端上设置白名单或者黑名单。

所有这些特点在Sia网路中中心话不是一个威胁,即便是部分托管主机在大范围中有很大优势。

zh/renter/host_centralization.txt · 最后更改: 2017/06/22 13:23 由 WeiYang

User Tools

Site Tools


renter:host_centralization

Host Centralization

Bitcoin mining, and PoW mining in general, is typically highly centralized. The centralization happens because of economies of scale. These types of economies of scale are in play for datacenters, so it makes sense to ask, will Sia hosting also become highly centralized?

Bitcoin mining suffers some key disadvantages. Miners can insert themselves into the system without any permission. The miner who hashes the fastest gets the most rewards, and - by design - nobody can stop them from participating. Another disadvantage is that all hashrate is the same. US hashrate and Chinese hashrate is equally valuable on the blockchain.

On Sia, the situation is a lot different. Everybody chooses their own hosts. A host cannot force a user to store data with the host, the user evaluates the host independently and then decides whether the host is worthwhile. If there's a big scary host that you don't like, you can blacklist the host from your renter. Your renter will then choose some other host, and decentralization prevails.

All storage is also not equal on the Sia network. Storage in the US is going to be faster for US users. And storage in China is going to be faster for Chinese users. There will be a natural pressure for users to favor the hosts that are geographically closest to them, because they will likely have lower latencies and higher speeds.

Finally, hosts will be able to take on different specializations, unlike miners. Some hosts can specialize in cheap bandwidth. Some hosts can specialize in SSDs. Some will specialize in cold storage. Each specialization improves the overall decentralization of the network.

Ultimately, the user has control over the situation. If the user wants to be certain that data is decentralized, they can be sure to select hosts that are all over the world. And, if they are dedicated, they can even research individual hosts and set up a whitelist or a blacklist for their clients to use.

All of these factors mean that datacenter centralization is not a risk for Sia, even if some hosts are able to obtain significant economies-of-scale advantages.

renter/host_centralization.txt · Last modified: 2017/04/19 06:35 by mr. taek